Alex Kwong, Ted Hempstead and Toby Keen in action for the Accenture ACT Indoor Masters sides.

Alex Kwong, Ted Hempstead and Toby Keen in action for the Accenture ACT Indoor Masters sides. Image: Powershots Photography

Four Australian teams have been named for the 2017 Trans-Tasman Masters in New Zealand, following the conclusion of the 2017 Australian Indoor Masters Championships in Canberra.

Queensland were the dominant state at the national carnival, reaching all four division grand finals and winning three.

The men in maroon claimed the 35 & Over Men, 40 & Over Men and 50 & Over Men division championships, with New South Wales edging them out in the 45 & Over division title.

Twelve players from each division have been selected in an Australian team, to compete against New Zealand in Tauranga in October.

“The Australian Masters Championships is an important part of the player pathway, and it was great to see such a high standard of cricket and camaraderie on show throughout the week," Cricket Australia Indoor Cricket Manager Briana Binch said.

“Canberra provided a fantastic venue for the Championships, and we thank everyone who made this year’s tournament a success, including the players, officials, centre and staff.

“We have selected four strong sides who will represent Australia later this year against New Zealand on their home turf in the Masters Trans-Tasman Series. Our four men’s masters sides all won world championships in England last year, and we hope that success on the international stage can continue."

ACT’s Alex Kwong was named as Player of the Series in the 40 & Over Men’s.

Queensland overcame ACT by 56 runs, 118 to 62, in the 40 & Over Men’s final, with 29 runs seeing Matt Jenkins win the Player of the Final award.

Replays of the live-streamed finals and full statistics are available via


As part of Accenture's partnership with the ACT teams each division has named a player of the tournament (pictured above) that have taken away a $200 prize for their excellent performances. 

Toby Keen, 146 runs, 6 wickets - Over 35s

Alex Kwong, 121 runs, 16 wickets (also player of the series) - Over 40s

Ted Hempstead, 149 runs, 7 wickets - Over 50s


35 & Over Men

Australian Team: Jon Harris (ACT), Matt Holwell, Barry Richards, Daniel Taylor, Craig White, Liam Zammit (NSW), Paul Bathman, Craig Cumming, Tony Hall, Brendan Kleidon, Luke Waters (QLD), Rodney Bird (VIC). Coach: Kevin Ala-Outinen. Manager: David McKay.

Champions: Queensland

Player of the Series: Brandon Kleidon (QLD)

Player of the Final: Tony Ashworth (QLD)


40 & Over Men

Australian Team: Billy Floros, Jason Hays, Brad Morgan, Nathan Rennie (ACT), Gavin Maher (NSW), Brenton Brien, Lee Cussen, Stewart James, Daniel Lake, Kerry Stewart, Eric Peterson (QLD), Dale Christie (VIC). Coach: Rod Jenkins. Manager: Adele Wood.

Champions: Queensland

Player of the Series: Alex Kwong (ACT)

Player of the Final: Matt Jenkins (QLD)


45 & Over Men

Australian Team: Marty Bennett, Rodney May (ACT), Peter Bastow, Craig Bayldon, Michael Goeke, Jason Hardy, Stephen Simons (NSW), Robbie Cockerell, Troy Pitt (QLD), Alex Jesenek (VIC), Craig McSweeney, Brett Williams (WA). Coach: Peter Leerson. Manager: John McLochlan.

Champions: New South Wales

Player of the Series: Robbie Cockerell (QLD)

Player of the Final: Craig Bayldon (NSW)


50 & Over Men

Australian Team: Ted Hempstead, Chris Henry (ACT), John Adamson, Mark Butler, John Short (NSW), Shawn Frerichs, Lee Morphew, Barry Morrison, Jamie Seymour (QLD), Mal Challen (SA), Tony Plose (VIC), John Trela (WA). Coach: Billy Oches. Manager: Sam Bright.

Champions: Queensland

Player of the Series: Barry Morrison (QLD)

Player of the Final: John Short (NSW)

Cricket ACT
June 6th 2017
Cricket ACT

ACT Cricket Association

ABN 61 741 344 332

©2015 Cricket ACT
All rights reserved.

a b x


Canberra Toyota

Abode Hotels


Cricket Australia

Cricket ACT is an associate member of Cricket Australia - the national governing body for the game in Australia.



Cricket LIVE

Take cricket with you everywhere! Get the latest scores, news, highlights, live radio and live video streaming.